More and more digitized collections are coming online. There's no way to list them all, but the following table should give you a sense of what's available and might be useful for your work.
| Title | Creator/Sponsor | URL | Content | Notes |
| Alexander Hamilton Papers | Library of Congress | https://www.loc.gov/ |
Approximately 12,000 items document Hamilton's life from his Caribbean boyhood to his marriage and legal work, aid to General Washington during the Revolution, involvement in state and national politics, and term as first treasury secretary. Materials date from about 1777 to his death in 1804. The collection's series cover general correspondence, speeches and writings, legal files, financial papers, family papers, miscellany, and separate 1998 and 2017 additions | Users can browse by series, or conduct keyword searches across the full collection, limiting results by format, date, location, series, contributor, subject, or language. |
| Archive of American Television | Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation | http://www.emmytvlegends.org/ | More than 850 videotaped interviews with television industry professionals who work in front of and behind the camera, chronicling the television industry from its earliest days to the present | Since 2008, the vast majority of the interviews have been digitized and made freely available to the public through the website, with briefer clips available on YouTube. Though the first interviews were taped in 1996, the range of time discussed by interviewees stretches from the time of the invention of television (1920s) to the present |
| Archive of the Indigenous Languages of Latin America (AILLA) | A joint project of the Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies and the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin | https://www.ailla.utexas.org/ | Provides free access to a body of original historical linguistic data preserved digitally from original fragile formats such as magnetic tape | The website has been fully overhauled in 2017 according to director's blog posting at https://liberalarts.utexas. |
| BBC News | British Broadcasting Corporation | http://www.bbc.com/news/ | First launched in November 1997, BBC News is part of BBC Online. It offers a news service that is "independent, impartial and honest" as written in the BBC's 2017 mission and values statement. This dynamic service offers current, updated news and information (with a simple clock icon showing an item's timeliness) in written stories, streaming audio and video, photographs, and links to BBC radio and television broadcasts available throughout the day. | The service is in English, but the BBC also offers news in more than 40 languages, linked from the page footer and at http://www.bbc.co.uk/ws/ |
| Discovering Literature: Romantics and Victorians | British Library | https://www.bl.uk/romantics-and-victorians | Discover 1,200 collection items, 167 articles, 25 films, 30 teachers’ notes and more. | Discovering Literature has been supported since its inception by Dr Naim Dangoor CBE, Dangoor Education. |
| E-international Relations | E-international Relations | http://www.e-ir.info/ | Includes open access books. | The world’s leading open access website for students and scholars of international politics, featuring high quality scholarly content and student-facing resources. Established in November 2007, and recommended by leading academics and practitioners from around the world. |
| Florence Nightingale Digitization Project |
Howard Gotlieb Archival Research Center |
http://archives.bu.edu/web/florence-nightingale/ | a collaborative database consisting of more than 2,300 letters handwritten or narrated by Florence Nightingale. For the first time, these letters are now available to researchers through a single source. | The website launched in 2014 as a collaborative venture of the host institution with the Florence Nightingale Museum in London, The Royal College of Nursing, and the Wellcome Library. |
| Hathi Trust Digital Library | a partnership of academic & research institutions | https://www.hathitrust.org/ | a collection of millions of digitized titles from around the world |
Log in with your partner institution account to access the largest number of volumes and features. If you don't have access to a partner institution login, click see options to log in as a guest. |
| Historic American Buildings Survey / Historic American Engineering Record / Historic American Landscapes Survey | Library of Congress | http://www.loc.gov/pictures/ |
Administered by the National Park Service, the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) have collected a comprehensive record of achievements in architecture and engineering, respectively, since 1933 and 1969. In 2000, the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) was added. New documentation is created annually through fieldwork and research. All print records are accessible in the reading room of the Prints and Photographs Division, but the online collections were introduced in 1997 to provide digital access to the full range of materials of these surveys. | Searching can be restricted to HABS/HAER/HALS records or combined with other holdings of the Prints and Photographs Division. |
| Metropolitan Museum of Art |
Open Access initiative by the Metropolitan Museum of Art |
https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection | Approx. 375,000 public domain images |
Use images that the Museum believes to be in the public domain or those to which the museum waives copyright for any purpose. Identify these images by looking for the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) icon ( |
| Open Parks Network | Clemson University and the National Park Service | http://openparksnetwork.org/ | Provides access to millions of pages of gray literature and digitized and downloadable high-resolution images, most with no copyright restrictions. More than 80 collections describe many national parks or protected NPS historic sites. | As of early 2018, most parks represented are in the eastern US, with Yellowstone National Park being the exception. The cultural heritage collections are as varied as the national parks and historic sites themselves. The collection is expected to grow. |
| Our Energy Policy | Our Energy Policy Foundation | http://www.ourenergypolicy.org/resource-library/ |
Covers biofuels, climate change, coal, domestic production, electric vehicles, energy efficiency, energy security, environment, finance, hydraulic fracturing, hydropower, legislation, liquid fuels, methanol, national security, natural gas, nuclear, oil, power sector, regularion, solar, technology, wind |
Goal: to facilitate substantive, responsible dialogue on energy policy issues, and provide this dialogue as a resource for the American people, policymakers, and the media. By bringing together energy experts in productive national discourse, OurEnergyPolicy.org enhances the potential of identifying, adopting, and implementing effective energy policy. |
| Patient Care and Health Information | Mayo Clinic | https://www.mayoclinic.org/patient-care-and-health-information | The Mayo Clinic’s Patient Care and Health Information pages enables A-Z searches in four areas: diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements. | A result of the recent strengthening of consumer participation in medical decisions and grants for consumer health materials, laws such as the Patient Self-Determination Act, and the National Library of Medicine's outreach programs for consumer health. |
| SpeechBITE | University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia | http://speechbite.com | a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice, an evidence-based initiative for best intervention practices and treatment efficacy | Launched in 2008. Offers good search capability and excellent bibliographic and abstract listings. NOTE: Full-text may carry a payment; however, use CSUEB's Interlibrary Loan in those cases. |
| Under-told Stories Project | University of St. Thomas, MN | http://undertoldstories. |
Seeking out international news is a strategy often suggested to news consumers, but locating reliable, easily accessible sources can be challenging. Hosted at the University of St. Thomas (MN) and partnering with PBS and the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting at http://pulitzercenter.org/, the Under-told Stories Project provides access to high-quality news from around the world, bringing stories of people who are not often represented in the mainstream media to Western eyes. Video content on the site consists largely of PBS NewsHour and PBS Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly videos produced between 1997 and 2017 (usually between five and ten minutes long) and reported by Fred de Sam Lazaro, a well-respected international journalist—a regular PBS correspondent—and director of the Under-Told Stories Project. | |
| United Nations Climate Change Newsroom | Website of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) | http://newsroom.unfccc.int/ |
This global perspective on climate change is particularly important because validated information on climate change is being deleted from U.S. federal government websites and repositories. Links to news are updated multiple times a day, with information on issues in climate science and the energy industry. Climate Action is one of four major categories of information, along with Paris Agreement, COP23 Bonn, and UNFCCC Process and Meetings sections. UNFCCC staff members write stories covering public policy, legislation, scientific research, international negotiations, and more. | See also https://cop23.unfccc.int, re-launched in Nov. 2017 to coincide with the Conference of the Parties (COP23) |
) directly below the image.