Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of content collections, including the Encyclopedia of world dress and fashion, e-books, e-journals, museum directory, reference works, images, and more. Browsable by time (1600 to date) and by place (click on world map).
Includes production details for films and television programs mainly produced since 2010. Projects directed or created by women and key topics in gender and women's studies are central to this expanding resource curated for diversity.
"Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music." For Theatre resources, please click on the Theatre tab.
Hailed by Newsweek as "the most exciting individual in American theater," Anna Deavere Smith uses her solo performances as a public medium to explore issues of race, identity, and community in America. Inspired by her grandfather who told her, "Say a word often enough, and it becomes you," Deavere Smith has interviewed more than 2,000 people across the country for 20 years. Without props, sets, or costumes, she translates these encounters into profound performances, each drawing verbatim from the original recorded interview. Her uncanny ability to inhabit the characters she's representing onstage regardless of race, gender, or age has made her the master of the form.
The UC Santa Barbara, Department of Special Collections' digital collection at California Revealed consists of moving images from the 1960s to the 1990s. The collection includes video from "Califas: Chicano Art and Culture in California Collection," a major 1982 conference held at the University of California, Santa Cruz, as well as extensive documentation of El Teatro Campesino, the influential Chicano theater company. The collection also includes video from the Sojourner Kincaid Rolle papers, documenting the African-American poet, playwright, peacemaker, community activist, and television producer.
Welcome to the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993.
Welcome to The Costume Page, my personal library of costume and costuming-related links. I'm sharing it for the benefit of those who study and/or make costumes: costumers, students, historical re-enactors, science fiction fans, professionals, amateurs, dancers, theatrical costumers, trick-or-treaters, writers, researchers, and all those interested in fashion, textile art, and costume history.
