Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

Affordable Learning Solutions at Cal State East Bay: OER sources, M-Z

Part of the CSU initiative to provide students with affordable options to expensive texts

OER Sites, M-Z

Title Creator/Sponsor URL Content Notes
Merlot

In 1997, founded by CSU Center for Distributed Learning (CSU-CDL at www.cdl.edu). The University of Georgia System, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, University of North Carolina System, and the California State University System. Now includes other systems.

https://www.merlot.org/merlot/index.htm Includes materials of all types, "communities" of like disciplines and/or interests.  Materials are peer-reviewed, but there is a lag time.
MerlotX Affiliated with MERLOT (see above) http://www.merlotx.org Student portal created to help students find resources to support their learning goals.  Same extensive learning resources as MERLOT.  
MIT Online Textbooks MIT http://ocw.mit.edu/courses/online-textbooks Emphasis on engineering subjects, but also has earth sciences, computer science, global studies and languages, health sciences and technology, mathematics, media arts and sciences, and some management. This link takes you to an index to the online textbooks in MIT OpenCourseWare. Each link below goes to a course or resource page that contains the textbook files.
My Open Math MyOpenMath is powered by IMathAS © 2006-2017 David Lippman https://www.myopenmath.com Self study courses for students, using free and open math text and exercises offering immediate feedback.  See instructor page (link from main page) to find out how to use myopenmath in the classroom  
Open DSA National Science Foundation; github

https://opendsa-server.cs.vt.edu 

and 

https://github.com/OpenDSA

Open source software. Infrastructure and materials to support courses in computer science-related topics, e.g., data structures and algorithms (DSA), formal languages, finite automata, and programming languages

Free to use.
OER Commons Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education (ISKME) https://www.oercommons.org Designed for K-12, search existing resources or use "open author" to create a text While not directly designed for higher education, some materials may suit lower division courses
Open Course Library

Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges.  Funded by Gates Foundation and Washington State Legislature

http://opencourselibrary.org Covers all subjects. Many states are now providing equivalent offerings.  This is one example.
Open Learning Initiative  Carnegie Mellon University http://oli.cmu.edu Course lists at http://oli.cmu.edu/learn-with-oli/see-all-oli-courses/ include American English speech, anatomy & physiology, arabic for global exchange, argument diagramming, biochemistry, biology, causal & statistical reasoning, chemistry (stoichiometry), chinese I, concepts in statistics, French I and II, engineering statics, evidence-based practice in management & consulting, health information technology foundations, logic & proofs, media programming, modern biology, NSC stem pathways, PC hardware: cyber pathways across Maryland (CPAM), PC software: cyber pathways across Maryland (CPAM), principles of computing with python, probability & statistics, introduction to psychology, public policy analysis for engineers, responsible computing, Spanish I, statistical reasoning, stem foundations, stem readiness, and visual design

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.

Open SUNY textbooks SUNY http://textbooks.opensuny.org Many disciplines, including business, Education, English and Communication, General Studies, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences Basically has materials to support all SUNY OER courses.
Open Textbook Library Center for Open Education and Open Textbook Network, Univ. of Minnesota http://www.open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/ Covers accounting & finance, business, computer science & information systems, economics, education, engineering, humanities, journalism media studies & communications, law, mathematics, medicine, natural sciences (biology, chemistry, physics), social sciences, and student success These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. Download for no cost, or print at low cost. All textbooks are either used at higher education institutions or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Open Textbook Store group of faculty (unnamed) http://www.opentextbookstore.com Covers math topics Many courses have course packages available through myopenmath.com (listed above), which provides free online homework for several open math textbooks

OpenStax

and OpenStax College

A Nonprofit based at Rice University

https://openstax.org

https://openstaxcollege.org

Covers math (various texts in algebra, trigonometry, calculus, statistics), science (astronomy, anatomy & physiology, biology, microbiology, chemistry, physics), and social science (American government, economics, macro- and micro-economics, psychology, sociology).  One humanities text in U.S. History.  
The Orange Grove Florida Dept. of Education, University of West Florida, and Florida Virtual Campus https://www.floridashines.org/orange-grove Open courseware, open textbooks, 3d object models, learning modules, videos

While focus is on K-12, some higher education materials are also included.  WebAssign supported textbooks are also identified.

 

Public Library of Science

PLOS is a nonprofit publisher, innovator and advocacy organization.

http://www.plos.org 160,000+ peer-reviewed articles available for access, reuse, and re-distribution. Top scientists, including 64 Nobel laureates, from around the world (190 countries) have published with PLOS.
Saylor Academy

Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. Saylor Academy and saylor.org are trade names of the Constitution Foundation, a 501(c)3

https://www.saylor.org nearly 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, including art history, biology, business administration, chemistry, communication, computer science, economics, English, history, mathematics, philosophy, physics, political science, professional development, psychology, sociology, study skills Also offer meta-courses, and partner and certificate programs
Skills Commons U.S. Dept. of Labor (Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training), U.S. Dept. of Education, MERLOT https://www.skillscommons.org

Digital library of workforce training materials

Free and open
TED Talks TED is a media organization  founded in February 1984 as a conference, which has been held annually since 1990. https://www.ted.com/talks Online talks under the slogan "ideas worth spreading". Free to distribute
TM The Teaching of Literature Modern Language Association via MLA Commons https://mla.hcommons.org/groups/the-teaching-of-literature/ This RSS feed lists, among other creations, newly-created open access courses, syllabi, and texts, including links to the repositories in which they are stored.  Covers multiple languages.  
World Thought in Translation Yale University Press https://www.worldthoughtintranslation.com/frontend/ a selection of works from the Middle East, China, South Asia, and Latin America translated for English-speaking scholars, students, and other readers You must "register a new account," but it's free once you've registered.
Writing Commons Founded in 2008 by Joseph M. Moxley, Writing Commons is a viable alternative to expensive writing textbooks. http://writingcommons.org Faculty may assign Writing Commons for their compositionbusinesstechnical, and creative writing courses. The site is currently crowdsourcing submissions via an academic, peer-review process (see Contribute). A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.