Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

Affordable Learning Solutions at Cal State East Bay: OER sources, A-L

Part of the CSU initiative to provide students with affordable options to expensive texts

OER Sites, A-L

Title Creator/Sponsor URL Content Notes
Affordable Learning Solutions California State University

http://als.csuprojects.org

Links to free course materials and courses, free eTextbooks, Library Resources, etc.

 

Affordable Learning Solutions: Open Educational Resources by College

 

San Jose State University http://libguides.sjsu.edu/openresources Sections on general resources, applied sciences and arts, business, education, engineering, humanities and the arts, science, and social sciences Be sure to look for affordable learning solutions sites for other CSU campuses.  Links to them can be found from the main CSU ALS site (above).
Chemistry Libre Texts University of California, Davis https://chem.libretexts.org chemistry, including texts, textbook maps, homework exercises, worksheets, exemplars and case studies, visualizations and simulations, and demonstrations and experiments CC-NC-SA license (creative commons, noncommercial, share alike)

College Open Textbooks (COT)

The Collaborative focuses on awareness and adoptions of open textbooks community and two-year colleges, including training for instructors, adopting open resources, peer reviews of open textbooks, mentoring online professional networks that support OER authors, and other services.

http://collegeopentextbooks.org

Covers: 

anthropology and archaeology, biology and genetics, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, education, engineering and electronics, english and composition, fine arts, health and nursing, history, languages and communications, law, literature, mathematics, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, science, sociology, and statistics and probability

Peer reviews, if available, can be found through the [Review] link.  Accessibility reviews, if available can be found through the [Accessibility] link.  Creative Commons licensing is noted.

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

Lists textbooks and videos.

http://www.oerconsortium.org/copyrighted-digital-textbooks/

Covers business, career and college success, computer science, economics, education, english, health, history, journalism, languages, math, nursing, philosophy, psychology, sciences, sociology, statistics.  Also includes links to free textbooks from the National Council of Education Research and Training (NCERT), links to Free Textbooks with Advertising, and links to free educational videos.

The listed textbooks and videos are copyrighted and freely available for viewing via the Internet, but NOT available under open licenses.  Be sure to read Terms of Use at these websites.

Cool4Ed California Open Online Library for Education http://cool4ed.org Includes free and open eTextbooks, course materials, online courses, and open access journals and articles.  Covers most disciplines. Texts in the "course showcase" are peer reviewed and have been vetted for accessibility The eTextbooks are aligned with course content. A common ID number indicates that the course content and learning objectives are aligned among the CA Community Colleges, the CSU, and the UC.
Creative Commons Search

Creative Commons consists of a network of researchers, activists, legal, education, policy advocates, and volunteers in approx.85 countries

https://ccsearch.creativecommons.org This is a search prototype designed to search extensive sites offering open access materials, the latest of which is the release of 375,00 images (under CC0) from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. CC0 allows full sharing of material without concern for any copyright restriction.
Directory of Open Access Journals Launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden Independent community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals All data is freely available
Highwire An independent entity affiliated with Stanford University for over 20 years, HighWire is now a Silicon Valley company with investment provided by private equity technology specialist, Accel – KKR http://highwire.org/lists/browse.dtl Extensive, having amassed open access materials for over 20 years. HighWire provides online hosting and technology solutions to publishers, management tools for librarians and unique search functionality for researchers.
Internet Archive The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit https://archive.org non-profit library that searches millions of free books, videos, software, music (including live concerts), audio, TV news programs, images, websites.  Searches sources such as the University of Toronto and the California Digital Library  
Library at California State University, East Bay Cal State East Bay http://library.csueastbay.edu Library catalog and databases offer CSUEB community members access to many books, ebooks, articles, etc.   While not copyright free or OER, they are available free of charge to community members and "walk-ins."
Library of Congress U.S. Government https://www.loc.gov/discover/​ Includes digital collections, prints and photographs online, audio, video, and discovery tools.  Many primary sources have been digitized.