LibGuides: Philosophy &amp; Religious Studies: Find Articles

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Info Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
Clear cache and history
Close Browser
Restart your computer
Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

ILLiad

Can't find the article you want in our databases? Put in a request through ILLiad - InterLibrary Loan.

Your article will be delivered to you within 1-3 days, as a PDF so you can read it on your computer.

Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window Extensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews in all major fields of philosophy. Includes over 680 journals published worldwide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recent issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology.
Web of Science
Though the name may imply only lab science, this database indexes many articles on philosophy.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Use JSTOR as an expert searcher!

JSTOR is a great database and you can focus your searches using these links. I recommend always using the Advanced Search option. You may find this tutorial (a pdf file) from JSTOR helpful.

JSTOR Advanced Search
A collection of journal articles, most of which are full text. (We don't yet have access to many of the books or pamphlets.) Please note that from this Advanced Search Screen you can narrow your search by discipline to focus on Philosophy and/or other disciplines.
Direct Links to the Philsophy Journals in JSTOR
Go directly to specific Philosophy journals and search within each title. This is good for 1. finding an article you have been told about in a particular journal, and 2. browsing issues of a particular journal.
Direct Links to Religion journals in JSTOR
Go directly to specific Religion journals and search within each title. This is good for 1. finding an article you have been told about in a particular journal, and 2. browsing issues of a particular journal.
Browse JSTOR journals by Subject
The interdisciplinary nature of Philosophy leads me to suggest that you think of what other subjects might overlap with your research topic. By browsing this list you may find inspiration for how to find additional resources. I'm glad to meet with you to brainstorm about this approach.

OneSearch

Search all of the Library databases and the Library catalog from one search box

Library Liaison

Kate Pham

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Nursing, Philosophy, Political Science

Ask Us!

Send an email: libhelp@csueastbay.edu

Hayward Information Desk:
(510) 885-3765

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Philosophy & Religious Studies: Find Articles