LibGuides: Communication: Find Articles

Communication Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages and is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Coverage 1836-1922.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly named Communication and Mass Media Complete
Daily Review (Hayward, CA) Archive This link opens in a new window The Daily Review historical newspaper collection has been preserved on microfilm and it includes full images of every page. The archives covers history from 1947 to 1977.
Dorothy This link opens in a new window Includes production details for films and television programs mainly produced since 2010. Projects directed or created by women and key topics in gender and women's studies are central to this expanding resource curated for diversity.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center - An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Ethnic NewsWatch [Current] This link opens in a new window Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. It includes both English and Spanish Language publications and you may search in Spanish or in English.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window With archival material dating back to 1970, GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining hundreds of academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with hundreds of thousands of articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Follow this link: Google Scholar Settings to turn on a feature to check if Google Scholar results are available in the Library databases.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window A four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries. Starting with collections by feminists and the GI press, the collection will grow to include small literary magazines, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, the minority press (Latino, Black and Native American) and the extreme right-wing press.
Los Angeles Times Newspaper This link opens in a new window The Los Angeles Times is one of the largest metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, with access to top news stories, and also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even items such as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed. Comprehensive coverage back to 1985.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window Lists editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines. Also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world — Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Enables users to search the most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. Includes top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Info Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
Clear cache and history
Close Browser
Restart your computer
Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Communication

Communication Databases

Connect From Off-Campus