LibGuides: Political Science: Find Articles

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Info Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
Clear cache and history
Close Browser
Restart your computer
Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

ILLiad

Can't find the article you want in our databases? Put in a request through ILLiad - InterLibrary Loan.

Your article will be delivered to you within 1-3 days, as a PDF so you can read it on your computer.

Political Science Databases

Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Includes comparative politics, government and political systems, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. This database is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. Approximately 1100 serial titles covered with plans to focus expansion on international titles.

JSTOR Advanced Search
A collection of journal articles, most of which are full text. (We don't yet have access to many of the books or pamphlets.) Please note that from this Advanced Search Screen you can narrow your search by discipline to focus on Political Science and/or Public Policy and Administration and/or other disciplines.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Resources from 1960-present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary, scholarly full text database which includes full text for nearly 4700 publications, as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for the over 8000 journals in the collection.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research."-About Google Scholar

Use JSTOR as an expert searcher!

JSTOR is a great database and you can focus your searches using these links. I recommend always using the Advanced Search option. You may find this tutorial (a pdf file) from JSTOR helpful.

JSTOR Advanced Search
A collection of journal articles, most of which are full text. (We don't yet have access to many of the books or pamphlets.) Please note that from this Advanced Search Screen you can narrow your search by discipline to focus on Political Science and/or Public Policy and Administration and/or other disciplines.
Direct Links to the Political Science Journals in JSTOR
Go directly to specific Political Science journals and search within each title. This is good for 1. finding an article you have been told about in a particular journal, and 2. browsing issues of a particular journal.
Direct Links to Public Policy & Administration journals in JSTOR
Go directly to specific Public Policy & Administration journals and search within each title. This is good for 1. finding an article you have been told about in a particular journal, and 2. browsing issues of a particular journal.
Browse JSTOR journals by Subject
The interdisciplinary nature of Political Science leads me to suggest that you think of what other subjects might overlap with your research topic. (e.g. you may want to include Law as a subject area in your search.) By browsing this list you may find inspiration for how to find additional resources. I'm glad to meet with you to brainstorm about this approach.

Library Liaison

Kate Pham

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Philosophy, Political Science

Ask Us!

Send an email: libhelp@csueastbay.edu

Hayward Information Desk:
(510) 885-3765

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Political Science: Find Articles