It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks QH304 .H64 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-17
Practical and easy to use, Writing in the Biological Sciences provides students with all of the techniques and information they need to communicate their scientific ideas, insights, and discoveries. Angelika H. Hofmann introduces students to the underlying principles and guidelines ofprofessional scientific writing and then teaches them how to apply these methods when composing essential forms of scientific writing and communication.Ideal as a free-standing textbook for courses on writing in the biological sciences - or as an accompanying text or reference guide in courses and laboratories with writing-intensive components - this indispensable handbook gives students the tools they need to succeed in their undergraduate sciencecareers and beyond.
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks Q223 .A37 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
This book provides a comprehensive and coherent step-by-step guide to writing in scientific academic disciplines. It is an invaluable resource for those working on a PhD thesis, research paper, dissertation, or report. Writing these documents can be a long and arduous experience for students and their supervisors, and even for experienced researchers. However, this book can hold the key to success. Mapping the steps involved in the writing process - from acquiring and organizing sources of information, to revising early drafts, to proofreading the final product - it provides clear guidance on what to write and how best to write it. Features: Step-by-step approach to academic writing in scientific disciplines Ideal guidance for PhD theses, papers, grant applications, reports and more Includes worked-out examples from real research papers and PhD theses and templates and worksheets are available online to help readers put specific tasks into practice
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks Q180.55.P7 O78 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-25
Investigators, their home institutions, and funding agencies play significant roles in the development and outcomes of scientific projects. Submitting a proposal to a funding agency is only one dimension of a multivariable and complex funding process, and understanding this is a good first step toward unlocking the puzzle behind why some research proposals receive awards while others are declined. The Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing offers researchers and research administrators a broad perspective on the process of initiating and conducting funded scientific research projects. Written for students and researchers in all fields and disciplines, this reference offers a holistic approach to conceiving and then converting new ideas into effective proposals. It focuses on the technical aspects of writing proposals rather than the fund-raising issues. Chapters provide full coverage of the scientific method, including information on how scientific research should be conducted. Providing the tools necessary to organize ideas and obtain the funds needed to effectively manage projects, the Handbook of Scientific Proposal Writing includes: 56 figures and 25 tables to help convey key ideas More than 150 citations that provide pointers to additional sources for further reading Examples to help the reader ease through more abstract concepts End-of-chapter questions to stimulate further examination and comprehension
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks Z286.S4 S69 2015
Publication Date: 2016-01-06
This booklet provides a practical introduction to the practice of peer reviewing. Although it mainly focuses on paper reviewing for scientific events in computer science and business informatics, many of the principles, tips, tricks and examples can also be applied to journal reviewing and other scientific domains. Some can also be used when reviewing proposals for research projects or grants. In addition, many aspects of the book will benefit authors of scientific papers, who will gain deeper insights into how papers are reviewed and hence what to pay attention to when writing their own papers. The book is divided into three chapters, the first of which presents a brief overview of why peer reviewing is considered to be an important quality control instrument for scientific papers. In turn, the second chapter elaborates on the main principles a good reviewer should adhere to, including the most important aspects of personal attitude s/he should pay attention to when writing his/her review. Lastly, the third chapter features a series of (anonymized) real life examples of actual reviewing practice, thus illustrating practical tips and tricks regarding the most common "do's" and "don'ts" of peer reviewing. The book offers a structured introduction and practical reference guide, including good and bad examples, for junior researchers in computer science and business informatics in particular, as well as for anyone interested in peer reviewing in general.
Even the best ideas have little value if they are not explained clearly, concisely, and convincingly to others. Scientists, engineers, health care professionals, and technology specialists become leaders in their fields not just by way of discovery, but by communication. In this essential book, two seasoned communication consultants offer specific, focused advice to help professionals develop, improve, and polish their interpersonal communication, writing, and presentation skills. The authors explain exactly how to manage multiple projects and interactions, collaborate with colleagues and others, gain support for ideas through presentations and proposals, and much more.
The aim of this book is to provide guidelines for preparing papers and presentations so that your message can be transmitted clearly and concisely to the reader or listener. Techniques for improving your writing, literature searching and training students in communication are also discussed. In this revised edition a few more topics have been added, such as electronic submission of manuscripts, writing statistics, and writing research proposals. Leading scientists are identified as much by their ability to communicate ideas and results as by the quality of their research. Ideas and results that are not communicated effectively will not contribute to new knowledge, so it is important that scientists learn to improve their communication skills. There are many types of scientific communication, the principal ones being journal papers and popular science articles, as well as oral and poster presentations. In each case, the ABC of science communication is that it should be Accurate and Audience-adapted, Brief and Clear. This book is designed to benefit young scientists presenting their first research results, experienced scientists wanting to make their communications more effective, university students at all levels, and teachers involved in the instruction of communication skills.
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks Q223 .S544 2017
Publication Date: 2016-10-06
Over the last half century scholars from a range of disciplines have attempted to theorise silence. Naively we tend to think of silence negatively, as a lack, an emptiness. Yet silence studies shows that silence is more than mere absence. All speech incorporates silence, not only in the gaps between words or the pauses that facilitate turn taking, but in the omissions that result from the necessary selectivity of communicative acts. Thus silence is significant in and of itself; it is a sign that has socially-constructed (albeit context -dependent and ambiguous) meanings. To date, studies of science communication have focussed on what is said rather than what is not said. They have highlighted the content of communication rather than its form, and have largely ignored the gaps, pauses and lacunae that are an essential, and meaningful, part of any communicative act. Both the sociology of science and the history of science have also failed to highlight the varied functions of silence in the practice of science, despite interests in tacit knowledge and cultures of secrecy. Through a range of case studies from historical and contemporary situations, this volume draws attention to the significance of silence, its different qualities and uses, and the nature, function and meaning of silence for science and technology studies.
Call Number: Hayward Campus Library Book Stacks Q1 .B47
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
"This is one of the most exciting times in the history of science,"New York Times-bestselling author Sam Kean proclaims in his introduction toThe Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018. "Things aren't perfect by any means. But there are more scientists making more discoveries in more places about more things than ever before." The twenty-six pieces assembled here chart the full spectrum of those discoveries. From the outer reaches of space, to the mysteries of the human mind, to the changing culture in labs and universities across the nation, we see time and again the sometimes rocky, sometimes revelatory road to understanding, and along the way catch aglimpse of all that's left to learn.
This is a book for scientists and other experts who need to explain the significance and potential of their work to colleagues, committees, funding bodies or the general public. It details how to harness story-telling principles to make complex or technical content easier to communicate and fulfilling for audiences.Eight narrative ingredients, Audience, Change and Affect, Lure, World, Character, Big Hook, Plot and Structure, are illustrated with examples and exercises to demonstrate how to build a presentation, how to pitch for funds or resources, how to make a persuasive argument, or simply how to explain ideas so they CRACKLE and FIZZ for the Audience.
Explaining Research is the first comprehensive communications guidebook for scientists, engineers, and physicians. Drawing on knowledge gleaned from a forty-year career in research communications, Dennis Meredith maps out how scientists can utilize sophisticated tools and techniques to disseminate their discoveries to important audiences. He explains how to use websites, blogs, videos, webinars, old-fashioned lectures, news releases, and lay-level articles to reach key audiences, emphasizing along the way that a strong understanding of the audience in question will allow a more effective communication tailored to a unique background and set of needs. In addition to drawing on the experience of the author, the book also includes excerpts from interviews with 45 of the country's leading science communications experts, including academics, authors, journalists, and public information officers.As the "information age" places new demands on scientists, Explaining Research will be a valuable resource not only for current professional scientists, but also for students who are the voice of the science community's next generation.This authoritative guide shows how to: · Develop a "strategy of synergy" that makes research communication efficient and effective · Give compelling talks · Build a professional Web site · Create quality posters, photos, animations, videos, e-newsletters, blogs, podcasts, and Webinars · Write popular articles and books · Persuade donors, administrators and other key funding decision-makers · Produce news releases that attract media coverage · Give clear media interviews · Serve as a public educator in schools and science centersVisit www.explainingresearch.com to learn more about the book and additional resources.
In the 25 years since the 'Bodmer Report' kick-started the public understanding of science movement, there has been something of a revolution in science communication. However, despite the ever-growing demands of the public, policy-makers and the media, many scientists still find it difficult to successfully explain and publicise their activities or to understand and respond to people's hopes and concerns about their work. Bringing together experienced and successful science communicators from across the academic, commercial and media worlds, this practical guide fills this gap to provide a one-stop resource covering science communication in its many different forms. The chapters provide vital background knowledge and inspiring ideas for how to deal with different situations and interest groups. Entertaining personal accounts of projects ranging from podcasts, to science festivals, to student-run societies give working examples of how scientists can engage with their audiences and demonstrate the key ingredients in successful science communication.
The ability to communicate in print and person is essential to the life of a successful scientist. But since writing is often secondary in scientific education and teaching, there remains a significant need for guides that teach scientists how best to convey their research to general and professional audiences. The Craft of Scientific Communication will teach science students and scientists alike how to improve the clarity, cogency, and communicative power of their words and images. In this remarkable guide, Joseph E. Harmon and Alan G. Gross have combined their many years of experience in the art of science writing to analyze published examples of how the best scientists communicate. Organized topically with information on the structural elements and the style of scientific communications, each chapter draws on models of past successes and failures to show students and practitioners how best to negotiate the world of print, online publication, and oral presentation.