Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

Art

In this Subject Guide, you will find Art resources to get you started on your research.

Check out the CSUEB Artists' Books Collection

Book Arts

Artist’s Books Online - An online repository of facsimiles, metadata, and criticism.

Artists’ Books Collection – Univ. Wisconsin Digital Collections - This database is an illustrated, descriptive index to the Artists’ Book Collection, located in the Kohler Art Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison. Presently, the Artists’ Book Collection contains over 800 titles. The database indexes approximately 760 of those titles, over 500 of which have one to four images to visually represent the structure and/or content of the book.

Book Arts Web - Website that offers information for practicing bookbinders, book-artists, marblers, papermakers, printers, collectors, curators in libraries, and people just interested in our wide and varied field.

San Francisco Center for the Book - The Center “fosters the joys of books and bookmaking—their history, artistry, continuing presence in our culture and their enduring importance as a medium of self-expression. We provide both a home for Bay Area book artists and a place where the wider community can discover book arts.”

Free Online Journals

The Bonefolder is a peer-reviewed e-journal for book artists and book binders from 2004-2012. Each issue can conveniently be downloaded as a PDF. In addition to scholarly articles on book art topics, this resource also contains helpful instructions for making different types of books and bookbinding.

Umbrella is the most comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media.