(From off-campus, you need to login as a CSUEB student, faculty, or staff person.)

While Google Images may be helpful in locating certain images, remember that you need to find the original source for the image to use and cite it properly. You may also find art images available through major museum websites. 

• American Memory Project (Library of Congress) - American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

• Burst - They "have 1000’s of high quality and royalty-free images available and free to download."

• Digital Public Library of America - "The DPLA is a large-scale, collaborative project across government, research institutions, museums, libraries, and archives to build a digital library platform to make America’s cultural and scientific history free and publicly available online. Artstor partnered as a content hub for DPLA and has provided access to more than 26,000 high-quality images and data records from leading museums and universities."

• Getty Museum Collections - Searchable image database of artwork at the Getty Museum.

• Images from the Smithsonian - Images from the Smithsonian Institution.

• Metropolitan Museum of Art - Search the Collection Database and the Timeline of Art History

• National Gallery of Art - NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.

• Prints & Photographs Online - Images from the Library of Congress

• Wikipedia Commons - “A database of 5,165,257 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.”

• World Images  - The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains over 65,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes.

For non-art images, check out this article, A Guide to Little-Known Image Collections with Millions of Free, Hi-Res Images, and the list of image sources from the SaleHoo page, 100+ AMAZING Free Stock Image & Photo Resources for 2018.