The University Libraries and EXCEL are proud to showcase the following resources highlighting scholarly and creative work by and about first generation college students.
Consider making a recommendation by filling out this form.
Exhibits, Online Databases, and Related Guides
Chronicle of Higher EducationThis link opens in a new windowSource of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Education Research CompleteThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. It also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowEducational Resources Information Center - An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowFrom the American Psychological Association. Contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.
DIY Success: Library 101This guide provides an overview of the online services and resources the Library provides to assist your studying and learning. Find information on research help, tech support, tutoring, and more services available at the library!
First In Our Families: Digital Stories of First Generation Students"This First Generation Digital Storytelling project explores the use of storytelling and digital social media to give voice to the rarely heard narratives of First Generation college students and graduates. In three day digital storytelling workshops, current and former first gen students craft first person stories and then weave images, video, sound, and silence to craft elegant multimedia pieces about pride, growth, resilience, anger, tenacity, doubt, shame, and discovery as they navigate the invisible cultural and social norms of higher education."
From Our DIY Success Collection
The Middle Finger Project by Ash Ambirge
Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Fresh, funny, and fearless, The Middle Finger Project is a point-by-point primer on how to get unstuck, slay imposter syndrome, trust in your own worth and ability, and become a strong, capable, wonderful, weird, brilliant, ballsy, unfuckwithable YOU.
Critical Thinking Skills by Stella Cottrell
Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks.
The Student's Guide to Peer Mentoring by Louise Frith; Gina May; Amanda Pocklington
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
Whatever stage of the peer mentoring journey your students are at, this engagingly-written book will help them to get the most out of their peer mentoring experience. It explains the role of peer mentors in universities and shows students exactly what's involved in providing academic and pastoral support to other students.
Academic Success by Jean Brick; Nick Wilson; Deanna Wong; Maria Herke
Publication Date: 2018-10-30
This hands-on book introduces students to the demands of university study in a clear and accessible way and helps them to understand what is expected of them. It helps students to develop the core skills they need to succeed at university, and gives guidance on the key forms of academic writing, including essays, reports, reflective assignments and exam papers.
They Say / I Say by Cathy Birkenstein; Russel Durst; Gerald Graff
Publication Date: 2018-06-11
The book that has taught millions of students to present their arguments as a response to what "they say" has been expanded to define as broadly as possible who's included in "they." Readings demonstrate the moves that matter in academic writing and represent a multitude of perspectives.
Based on interview data, life testimonios, and Chicana feminist theories, The Chicana/o/x Dream profiles first-generation, Mexican-descent college students who have overcome adversity by utilizing various forms of cultural capital to power their academic success.
From bestselling author Reyna Grande--whose remarkable memoir The Distance Between Us has become required reading in schools across the country--comes an inspiring account of one woman's quest to find her place in America as a first-generation Latina university student and aspiring writer determined to build a new life for her family one fearless word at a time.
Freshwater tells the story of Ada, an unusual child who is a source of deep concern to her southern Nigerian family. Born "with one foot on the other side," she begins to develop separate selves within her as she grows into adulthood. And when she travels to America for college, a traumatic event on campus crystallizes the selves into something powerful and potentially dangerous, making Ada fade into the background of her own mind as these alters--now protective, now hedonistic--move into control.
A woman born in Hong Kong shares her life story, describing her family's move to Denver when she was five and the resulting conflict between her own desires to adopt American culture and her mother's wish to maintain traditional Chinese values.
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian meets Jane the Virgin in this poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations, and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican American home. Perfect Mexican daughters do not go away to college. And they do not move out of their parents' house after high school graduation. Perfect Mexican daughters never abandon their family. But Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter.
A few months before her twentieth birthday, Janet Mock is adjusting to her days as a first-generation college student at the University of Hawaii and her nights as a dancer at a strip club. Finally content in her body after her teenage transition, she vacillates between flaunting and concealing herself as she navigates dating and disclosure, sex and intimacy, and most important, letting herself be truly seen.
Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago's life has been about making the tough decisions--doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness. Even though she dreams of working as a chef after she graduates, Emoni knows that it's not worth her time to pursue the impossible. Yet despite the rules she thinks she has to play by, once Emoni starts cooking, her only choice is to let her talent break free.
"Current struggles to make colleges welcoming and relevant for students of color continue movements which swept across campuses fifty years ago. AGENTS OF CHANGE tells the timely and inspiring story of how successful protests for equity and inclusion led to establishing the first Black and Ethnic Studies departments at two very different universities: San Francisco State (1968) and Cornell (1969)."
"Black Panther: Interviews with founding members, Huey P. Newton, Eldridge Cleaver, and Bobby Seale, and documentary footage of the organization's meetings and marches reveal a pragmatic and still relevant outline for African American communities' self-determination and development. San Francisco State: onstrike: Recounts how students of color led a six month long strike in the fall of 1968 at San Francisco State to make their university's curriculum and admission policies more relevant and succeeded in creating the establishment of the first Ethnic Studies department in America."
"A new initiative by the University of California system uses first-generation faculty to guide first-generation students, with the goal of decreasing dropout rates. As part of our series Rethinking College, Hari Sreenivasan visits UCLA to see how the program is working."
"A program in Arizona supports nontraditional students who want to pursue degrees at their own speed. Much like a Netflix subscription, the new program lets students pay a flat fee for a personalized curriculum that works within their schedules. Hari Sreenivasan reports on how Northern Arizona University is putting bachelor's degrees within reach for many."
"Habits are small decisions and actions taken day after day, and account for about 40 percent of our behaviors on any given day. Just as good habits can be formed over time, bad habits can be eliminated over time as well. For students entering college it’s important to form habits that will positively affect their success in school. Habits such as what to eat, how much to sleep, how active to be, how to get along with others, as well as the ability to set goals and follow-up on those goals. This video looks at a few areas where every student can improve their habit building skills and create great routines for success in college."
"This inspirational documentary delves into the lives of eight first-generation college students, five preservice teachers and three successful educators, who chose a profession dedicated to a concept they are all committed to: changing lives."
From their website, "Through provision of services and guidance across institutional types, the Center aims to acknowledge the intersectional experiences of first-generation college students. This website serves as a home for Center updates and announcements, an outlet for sharing cutting edge research and current media conversations, opportunities for engagement through conferences and events, and access to a bevy of programs and services intended to improve first-generation initiatives across higher education."
From their website, "I’m First! was created by nonprofit Center for Student Opportunity in 2013 to provide students who lack a family history of higher education with inspiration, information, and support on the road to and through college and is now an initiative of Strive for College—a national nonprofit that also runs a national online mentoring program for college-bound students."
From their website, "Our mission is to empower first-generation and/or low-income (FGLI) students and professionals nationwide to achieve their full potential by providing life and career advice, lists of support resources and mentorship opportunities through a technology platform with online tools. "