Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

Biology: Find Articles

In this Subject Guide, you will find biology resources to get you started on your research.

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

  • Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
  • Clear cache and history
  • Close Browser
  • Restart your computer
  • Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

ILLiad

Can't find the article you want in our databases? Put in a request through ILLiad - InterLibrary Loan.

Your article will be delivered to you within 3-5 days, as a PDF so you can read it on your computer.

Identifying Information Sources

How do you know if what you've found on the open web is an article? Maybe it's a blog post or a news article. How can you tell?

Click on the link below for help in identifying the type of information source you've found: 

Identifying Information Sources LibGuide

OneSearch

Search all of the Library databases and the Library catalog from one search box

Searching Tips

Boolean operators
Invented by George Boole, these terms enable combinations of words to be searched at one time with different results, depending on the Boolean operator used. The standard terms are AND, OR, and NOT.

  • AND: retrieves results containing both terms (air AND water)
  • OR: retrieves results containing at least one of the terms (air OR water)
  • NOT: retrieves results answers containing one term but not the other (air NOT water)

As this is counter-intuitive to natural language that we use in everyday speech, if you get confused, consider this phrase: OR IS MORE

Truncation
This enables multiple forms of words to be searched at one time. To capture all of them at once, you insert a "truncation" symbol after the "root" of the word. This principle works in many databases, although the symbol for truncation may differ from database to database.

Example: chromato* retrieves "chromatograph," "chromatography," "chromatographic," "chromatogram," "chromatograms," etc.

Adjacency
To make sure two words are adjacent in your search results, use quotation marks, e.g.
"acid rain" or "risk analysis"

Getting only peer-reviewed articles
Many of the databases have a limiter so that you can search for only peer-reviewed articles. Peer-reviewed articles are also called scholarly or academic, depending on which database you are using.

Ask Us!

 

 

Send an email: libhelp@csueastbay.edu

 

Hayward Reference Desk:
(510) 885-3765