LibGuides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Find Articles

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Info Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
Clear cache and history
Close Browser
Restart your computer
Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

Google Scholar

Speech Pathology-related Databases

The databases listed below are excellent starting points for articles in communicative sciences and disorders. Click on the "i" icon where provided for additional information about the database.

Note that the Databases A-Z menu on the library home page includes additional databases that may be of use for locating speech pathology information.

CINAHL: Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
PsycINFO From the American Psychological Association. Contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.
PubMed The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Coverage 1946 - to present. Access to the full text of articles is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles.
Cochrane Library Contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Database Cheat Sheet for Speech Pathology

General databases

Academic Search Complete This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Education Research Complete Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. It also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
JSTOR Full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recent issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology.
ScienceDirect A full text online database for scientific, technical and medical information as well as information in the social sciences, business, and the arts and humanities. Access to over 2,200 journals and 26,000 books. Coverage 1823 - present.
Scopus Scholarly literature in the sciences and social sciences, including journals, books, and conference proceedings. Also includes datasets, author profiles, and cited references.

ASHA Journals

Looking for ASHA Journals?

All four ASHA research journals are available online through CINAHL.

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Find Articles

Connect From Off-Campus

Google Scholar

Speech Pathology-related Databases

General databases

ASHA Journals