LibGuides: Human Development & Women's Studies: Find Articles

Human Development Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This multi-disciplinary database provides access to full-text articles from more than 8,500 journals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Census of the United States This link opens in a new window The United States Census Bureau is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.
CINAHL: Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window Indexes over 4,900 nursing and allied health journals, with cited references from more than 1,400 journals; provides full-text access to more than 770 journals. Also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Dissertations and Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. Includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. It also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window A cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.
ERIC This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center - An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, providing free access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Follow this link: Google Scholar Settings to turn on a feature to check if Google Scholar results are available in the Library databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Does not provide electronic access to current issues of these journals. There is typically a gap from 1 to 5 years between the most recent issues being published and the content becoming available in JSTOR. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature, biology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window From the American Psychological Association. Contains over 2 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, in the area of psychology and related fields dating back to 1840. The database includes international material selected from thousand of journals in 24 languages, English-language book chapters and entire books in psychology and related fields. More than 9,900 journals on psychology and related fields are indexed and over 65,000 records added annually for a total of over 1.5 million records.
PubMed This link opens in a new window The U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Indexes worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Articles indexed from 5,663 journals and many serials and online books. Some full text. Coverage 1946 - to present. Access to the full text of articles is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations from 1,500 journals, along with citations of book reviews appearing in the journals abstracted. Updated monthly and includes backfiles to 1980.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1650 journals and other serials publications as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations. Updated monthly and contains backfiles to 1963.
Women & Social Movements in the US This link opens in a new window A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history generally and at the same time make those insights accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 123 document projects and archives with 5,100 documents and more than 170,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 2,700 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Info Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
Clear cache and history
Close Browser
Restart your computer
Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

Human Development & Women's Studies

Human Development Databases

Connect From Off-Campus