University of Minnesota Libraries Mapping Prejudice project - "Visualizing the hidden histories of race and privilege in the built environment" ... "This research is showing what communities of color have known for decades. Structural barriers stopped many people who were not white from buying property and building wealth for most of the last century."
KFF, "KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations."
From website, "VFOA is an applied research project dedicated to preserving and disseminating the neglected narratives of the American experience. Through oral interviews, we aim to create social and educational resources that provide communities with a more complete understanding of life in Our America."
Description from website, "While treaties between Indigenous peoples and the United States affect virtually every area in the USA, there is as yet no official list of all the treaties. The US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands."
"We strive to map Indigenous lands in a way that changes, challenges, and improves the way people see the history of their countries and peoples. We hope to strengthen the spiritual bonds that people have with the land, its people, and its meaning. We strive to map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages across the world in a way that goes beyond colonial ways of thinking in order to better represent how Indigenous people want to see themselves. We provide educational resources to correct the way that people speak about colonialism and indigeneity, and to encourage territory awareness in everyday speech and action."
"Mapping Inequality brings one of the country's most important archives to the public. HOLC's documents contain a wealth of information about how government officials, lenders, and real estate interests surveyed and ensured the economic health of American cities. And with the help of ongoing research, we continue to learn at what cost such measures were realized. Over the last thirty years especially, scholars have characterized HOLC's property assessment and risk management practices, as well as those of the Federal Housing Administration, Veterans Administration, and US. Housing Authority, as some of the most important factors in preserving racial segregation, intergenerational poverty, and the continued wealth gap between white Americans and most other groups in the U.S. Many of these agencies operated under the influence of powerful real estate lobbies or wrote their policies steeped in what were, at the time, widespread assumptions about the profitability of racial segregation and the residential incompatibility of certain racial and ethnic groups. Through HOLC, in particular, real estate appraisers used the apparent racial and cultural value of a community to determine its economic value. Mapping Inequality offers a window into the New Deal era housing policies that helped set the course for contemporary America. This project provides visitors with a new view, and perhaps even a new language, for describing the relationship between wealth and poverty in America."
"Users can search by parcel number (APN), address, or owner name. A selected parcel will have available a report showing Alameda County Assessor, jurisdictional, hazard, and demographic/business information."
"...Federal Indian policy during the period from 1870 to 1900 marked a departure from earlier policies that were dominated by removal, treaties, reservations, and even war. The new policy focused specifically on breaking up reservations by granting land allotments to individual Native Americans...."
Knowing the zoning of a property will clarify what limits may apply to a residential or commercial project. To find the zoning of a property: Type an address or Assessor's Block and Lot number (e.g., 0787/001) in the Search field below and Enter/Return on your keyboard, or click on search icon. Once the results appear, select the "Zoning Information" from the list on the left menu, where information relating to district uses, impact fees, zoning maps, guidelines and other detailed information is located.
Description from Learning for Justice curated list, "The searchable database is a collection of more than 22,000 advertisements placed by enslavers across the nation in search of fugitives from slavery. A collaborative effort, the site is the largest collection of its kind. Entries contain original images, transcriptions and details including publication date, escapee count and newspaper location for each advertisement. Advertisements for people fleeing from enslavement are essential artifacts for teaching the history of slavery. Many offer extensive details—often the only to survive—about enslaved people and their lives. Each advertisement is a story of resistance."
Description from Learning Justice curated list, "This is a searchable database of 2,300 advertisements placed in North Carolina by enslavers seeking people who escaped enslavement. Advertisements are accessible by sophisticated search features. Entries contain original images, transcripts and some additional details, such as date and location. The site also includes the essay “Trends in the Runaway Slave Advertisements,” which provides students a model of how historians read, understand and use primary source documents to better understand the past."
Description from Learning Justice curated list, "The site’s name and content refer to the work of Ida B. Wells-Barnett. An interactive map with links to records provides extensive detail about victims and the circumstances of their murders, including original historical documents. The meticulous curation of records allows students to see the extent of lynching in the Confederate South and better understand its horror. The site is not particularly search-friendly, but its map is a useful way to find individual records of lynching and a wealth of sources, including newspaper accounts and census data. The student-facing “Documentation” resources offer insight into how the work of historical recovery often unfolds."
Description from website, "In our 2018 report on improving the teaching of slavery, we recommended educators use original historical documents to represent the diverse voices and experiences of enslaved people. Our Teaching Hard History text library includes more than 100 of these sources, but educators looking for more will find a trove of resources online. The online archives and databases listed here are a good place to start. We encourage educators to review these resources and, when possible, to have students explore these records on their own."