Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

History: Find Books

In this guide, you will find a lot of History resources, from databases to books.

Search the Catalog!

Use the search box below to search the Library Catalog for books, eBooks, videos, etc.

Book Reviews Online


America: History and Life  This resource covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals from 1863 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.

H-NET  This is a great source for recent book reviews.   http://www.h-net.org/reviews/home.php

Historical Abstracts This database supports research on World History, Military History, Women's History, History of Education and many other related topics. It also provides indexing of historical articles from more than 3,100 journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955. In addition, this database provides access to the full text of more than 380 journals and 140 books.    

Reviews in History  Sponsored by the Institute of Historical Research this is also a very good source of current scholarly reviews.

JSTOR Provides a full text archive of core scholarly journals in selected disciplines, including history.  

New York Times Books on the Web Provides reviews of current titles and a searchable archive of book reviews, author interviews, and news articles since 1980. 

Project Muse Full-text of articles published in over 100 journals from  Johns Hopkins University Press and other university and academic publishers. 1995 - present.  

 

ILL and CSU+

The Library may not always have the book you are looking for.

If you know the title of the book you are looking for, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request here

Over the summer, the CSUs will be implementing CSU+, which will allow you to request books from all 23 CSU campuses.

Online Books

The library also has an extensive e-books collection. You can search the Library Catalog for e-books the same way that you search for regular books. Using the Advanced Search option, you can limit your search to “EBOOKS” under “Material Type.” Other sources of online books:

ACLS Humanities E-book  
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of approximately 4,000 books of high quality in the humanities.

Carrie: English Language Online Books
Hosted by the University of Kansas, this site provides electronic access to books of particular interest to historians.

Internet Classics Archive
Sponsored by MIT, contains full text of classical works, often available in the original Latin or Greek as well as the translation.

The On-Line Books Page
Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Library, indexes thousands of books available freely on the internet, as well as providing pointers to directories and archives of online books.

Project Gutenberg
With thousands of important and famous texts available this is a rich site for electronic books. Search by subject, title or author.

 

 

New Books!