Art21 - "Over the past decade, ART21 has established itself as the preeminent chronicler of contemporary art and artists through its Peabody Award-winning, PBS-broadcast television series, ART21 Art in the Twenty-First Century. The nonprofit organization has used the power of digital media to introduce millions of people of all ages to contemporary art and artists and has created a new paradigm for teaching and learning about the creative process."
ArtNet Monographs - Research comprehensive artist information with artnet Monographs library, a resource developed in close collaboration with artists, estates and galleries.
Artist Biographies - Sculpture, painting, installation artists, print, performance, photography, collage and multimedia and digital artists. The current, the famous, established and emerging artists since 1900, with links to web resources.
Encyclopedia Smithsonian: Art & Design - Great resource for online exhibitions and research relating to art and design.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art - With over 20 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.
Web Gallery of Art - A virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900). Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
Art History Resources on the Web - In-depth hyperlinked lists divided by period and maintained by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College, Virginia.
Timeline of Art History - The Timeline of Art History presents the Metropolitan Museum’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. "Authored by the Met’s experts—predominantly made up of curators but also of conservators, scientists, and educators—the Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection."
Google Cultural Art Project - Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Powered by Google.
Art Images for College Teaching - Emphasizing ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large. "Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community."
Contemporary Art Daily - "Contemporary Art Group advances important art and improves the public's access to it through curated programming and the development of archives."