Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

Music: Vocal Solo and Choral Music

Looking for sheet music to perform? Recordings to listen to? Books and articles about music or a related topic? This libguide will help!

Search the Catalog!

Use the search box below to search the Library Catalog for books, eBooks, videos, etc.

Connect From Off-Campus

You can access databases from off-campus by entering your netID and password after clicking on the database links.

If you have any issues with logging in, please call the Reference Desk at 510-885-3765 or send an email to libhelp@csueastbay.edu.

Troubleshooting Tips:

  • Try a different browser (Chrome to Firefox, IE to Chrome, etc.)
  • Clear cache and history
  • Close Browser
  • Restart your computer
  • Reset your netID password (if you can log in to Blackbaord, MyCSUEB, etc, but not the databases)

ILLiad

Can't find the article you want in our databases? Put in a request through ILLiad - InterLibrary Loan.

Your article will be delivered to you within 3-5 days, as a PDF so you can read it on your computer.

I want to find a song for voice and piano or a piece for choir.

The printed music in the CSU East Bay Library collection uses the Library of Congress call number system all beginning with the letter M. The printed music is generally arranged by the performance ensemble. That means that you can browse Bach cantatas by looking at the music with call numbers beginning M 2020 .B…. 

Here's a general guide to vocal solo and ensemble music call numbers:

  • vocal/choral music with secular texts are in M1497-M1998
  • vocal/choral music with sacred texts are in M1999-M2199

Here's a more detailed list:

  • M1497 collections (e.g. Italian arias)
  • M1500-M1527.8 dramatic music (that's the term for Operas)
  • M1528-M1529.5 music with secular text for two or more solo voices (some with piano accompaniment, some for voices and instrumental ensemble)
  • M1530-M1609 choruses with secular texts (e.g., Samuel Barber's To be sung on the water for four-part women's chorus)
  • M1611-M1624.8 music with secular text for one solo voice (e.g. Cateloube's Chants d'Auvergne for medium voice and orchestra [arr. for voice and piano]
  • M1625-M1626 recitations with music (e.g. William Walton and Edith Sitwell's Facade)
  • M1627-M1853 folk, national, and ethnic music (e.g., folksongs from China)
  • M1900-M1985 songs of specific groups or on specific topics (e.g., work songs like sea shanties)
  • M1990-M1998 secular vocal music for children (e.g., singing games for children)
  • M1999 collections of music with sacred texts (e.g., a collection of choruses from Brahm's sacred music)
  • M2000-M2007 dramatic music (that's the term for Oratorios such as Handel's Messiah)
  • M2010-M2017.6 choral services (e.g., Monteverdi's Marian Vespers 1610 or Bach's Mass in b minor)
  • M2018-M2019.5 music with sacred text for two or more solo voices (e.g., Arvo Pärt's Stabat Mater)
  • M2020-M2105.5 choruses with sacred texts (e.g., Bach's Cantatas)
  • M2102-2114.8 music with sacred text for one solo voice (Ned Rorem's setting of the Lord's Prayer for medium voice and organ)
  • M2115-M2146 hymnals (i.e. books of music to be sung by congregations in worship services)
  • M2147-2188 music for liturgy and ritual (e.g., the Liber usualis collection of plainchant [sometimes called "Gregorian chant"])
  • M2190-M2196 sacred vocal music for children (Andrew Lloyd Webber's Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat)
  • M2198-M2199 popular religious and devotional music (e.g., hymns for use in "revival" services)

Library Liaison

Tom Bickley's picture
Tom Bickley
Contact:
Office: LI2141, University Library
CSU East Bay
25800 Carlos Bee Bl
Hayward, CA 94542
510 885 7554 (I MUCH prefer email)
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Ask Us!

 

 

Send an email: libhelp@csueastbay.edu

 

Hayward Reference Desk:
(510) 885-3765