Skip to main content

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES

TODAY'S HOURS
 
More Hours

University Archives and Special Collections: How to Use the Archives

Describes collections of the University Archives and Special Collections and how to use them.

What's on the Page

This page has information about using the archives. You'll find out how to make an appointment, how to find out more about the collections, and how to use the reading room. 

Contact Information

To schedule an appointment, please contact the archives staff at archives@csueastbay.edu. 

You can also reach the Archivist (Diana Wakimoto) at 510-885-4287 or diana.wakimoto@csueastbay.edu.

You can reach the Archives Assistant (Anna Graves) at 510-885-3892 or anna.graves@csueastbay.edu.

Archives Hours

The University Archives is available by appointment.

Reading room hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm.

Closed Saturday and Sunday.

Please be advised that the last pull of material is one hour prior to closing of the reading room and on Fridays researchers will need to complete their research by 4:50pm as the entire library closes at 5:00pm.

Reading Room Rules

These rules are designed to allow you access to the materials for research and also protect the materials for future researchers. We are grateful to you for abiding by these rules so that we can provide access to these resources for years to come. 

  • No food, drink, backpacks, purses, or laptop bags are allowed in the Reading Room. The staff in the Library Administration Office will provide a secure storage space for your items while you use the archival materials. This is to ensure the safety of the materials.
  • Please wash your hands before using the materials. This helps preserve the materials.
  • You will be asked to sign in. This allows us to document use of the collections.
  • You may use a laptop or pencil and paper to take notes. No pens are allowed in the reading room. Again, this is for the safety of the materials.
  • You may use a camera without flash to take photographs of the materials. These photographs are for your research use and allowing you to take photographs does not constitute permission to publish the photographs.
  • When handling the materials, remove only one folder from the box at a time. This allows us to keep the collections organized for everyone’s use.
  • Do keep the materials in the folder in order.
  • Do not lean on the materials or force any book to lay flat. You will receive book supports and weighted snakes if necessary and the archives staff will demonstrate how to use them properly. This ensures the preservation of the materials
  • If you are using photographic materials, the archives staff will provide you with white gloves for handling the materials. This ensures that the oils on your hands do not harm the photographic materials

Finding What You Want in the Archives

There are three ways to find information about the collections available in the University Archives. You may use the libraries’ online catalog to search for completed finding aids, use the search box to find materials via the Online Archive of California, or use the original indices (link below).

If you have any questions, please contact the archives staff at archives@csueastbay.edu.

Searching via the Libraries’ Online Catalog

Catalog records for the archival collections can be retrieved via the library’s catalog; however, the catalog does not include a comprehensive set of records for the archival collections; records are added as the staff finishes finding aids for the archival collections.

You can limit your search to the “Archives Collection” under the Location limiter.

Link to Original Indices

All of the original indices (aka box lists) for the archival collections processed before 2009 may be accessed via the searchable PDF link. The file is quite large and may take several minutes to download.

Search Finding Aids in the Online Archive of California

The University Archives has its finding aids and digital images available via the Online Archive of California (OAC). Please use the search box below to search our collections.